Skip to content
RAMS software buyer guide · Vendor sources checked October 2026

Best RAMS software for contractors (2026)

The best RAMS software depends on whether you mainly need to write RAMS quickly, keep them reviewed and up to date, or run wider site safety; this guide compares the main UK tools on all three, checked October 2026. Soteriaa publishes this guide and is one of the tools compared.

Jump to comparison table

Last updated .

How to choose RAMS software

Three jobs RAMS software can do

Most tools lead with one of these. Decide which one is your bottleneck before comparing prices.

Writing RAMS

Turning job details, hazards and controls into a risk assessment and method statement you can issue. Look at how content is supplied (your own, a library or AI drafting) and who checks it.

Keeping RAMS up to date

Holding RAMS per site or project, recording review dates and changes, and knowing which version was briefed. Look for version history, review reminders and export.

Running wider site safety

Briefings and sign-off on site, inductions, permits, toolbox talks, audits and incidents. Look at per-user pricing and whether you need all of it.
RAMS software comparison, checked October 2026

RAMS software compared

Prices are as each vendor publishes them, in pounds per month where a monthly price is shown. We have not tested these products.

On smaller screens, scroll the table sideways to see every column.

ToolWhat it does (vendor’s description)UsersPublished priceSource, date checked
HandsHQ
Builds RAMS from a trade-organised content library with a 5x5 risk matrix and branded PDF output; personnel sign-off, with approval workflows on higher tiers
Individual plans (Pro up to 3 users); Teams plans from up to 10 users
Individual: Basic £44/month ex VAT (1 RAMS a month), Advanced £99, Pro £190. Teams: from £275/month, billed annually plus a set-up fee. No free trial stated.
Individual and Teams pricing; October 2026
swiftRMS
AI drafts RAMS from a short task description, plus COSHH, manual handling and construction phase plans; permits, approvals and QR sign-off on the Business plan
Pro for individual contractors; Business up to 10 users
Pro £49/month or £499/year; Business £399/month; Enterprise custom. VAT not stated. 14-day free trial.
Pricing; October 2026
TalkHSE
Broad HSE platform: risk assessments, method statements, COSHH, toolbox talks, audits, incidents, actions and a legal register
Team user limits from 10 users, not priced per user
Standard £1,200/year ex VAT (no monthly price shown); Professional £4,800/year; Premium £8,600/year. No trial stated. The pricing page labels RAMS features “Coming Soon”, unlike its product pages.
Pricing and RAMS page; October 2026
Paperless Construction
Unverified: its site returned errors when we checked, so we cannot confirm its current scope
Not verified
Not published (could not be re-verified)
Pricing page unavailable to us; October 2026
RAMS App
Create, duplicate and send risk assessments, method statements and COSHH, with templates, a toolbox talk library and optional digital signatures
Single user or small business; multi-user plan
Annual Unlimited single user £449 + VAT a year (no monthly price shown); multi-user not published. No trial stated.
Single-user and multi-user pages; October 2026
Risk Assessor Pro
Web and mobile risk assessments and method statements linked into one RAMS document, with sign-off, action tracking and audits; works offline
Per user, in bands from 1–10 users
£18/user/month for 1–10 users, £16 for 11–20, £14 for 21–50; 10% off annually. VAT not stated. 14-day free trial.
Pricing; October 2026
Soteriaa
Free RAMS generator: builds a risk assessment and method statement from the job details, hazards and controls you supply. It does not choose hazards or controls
Anyone; no account needed to start
Free RAMS generator; tracking not yet on sale
RAMS pack; 10 October 2026
Vendor facts come only from each vendor’s own website, checked October 2026. Prices change; confirm the current price, VAT and contract term with the vendor before buying. Inclusion is not endorsement, and the order is not a ranking.
HandsHQ and HandsHQ alternatives

HandsHQ

A RAMS builder with a trade-organised content library, sold as individual plans with a monthly RAMS allowance or as annual team plans.
HandsHQ’s individual plans are priced by how many RAMS you create a month, which suits a contractor writing a few sets of RAMS. Team plans add users and approvals but carry a set-up fee that is not published. Its own pages disagree on which tier includes digital signatures, so confirm that in writing. Source: HandsHQ features, checked October 2026.
swiftRMS alternatives

swiftRMS

An AI drafting tool: you describe the task and it drafts the RAMS, with legislation references and a risk matrix.
swiftRMS suits a contractor who wants a fast first draft and is prepared to check it carefully. The Business plan adds permits, approvals and QR sign-off for teams of up to 10. Source: swiftRMS, checked October 2026.
Full site safety systems

TalkHSE

A wider HSE management platform in which RAMS is one module among audits, incidents, actions and a legal register.
TalkHSE prices by year with user and document allowances rather than per user. Its pricing page labels method statements and risk assessments “Coming Soon” while its product pages present them as available, so ask which modules are live before buying. Source: TalkHSE, checked October 2026.
Site briefing and sign-off

Paperless Construction

Listed because it is widely searched alongside RAMS software, but we could not verify its current product or prices.
Every page we requested from paperlessconstruction.co.uk returned an error in October 2026, so we have not described its scope or price. Check its site directly if site briefing and worker sign-off are what you need.
RAMS App alternatives

RAMS App

A cloud RAMS and COSHH document tool with templates and a toolbox talk library, sold as a single annual price for one user.
The single-user plan is one yearly payment, which suits a sole trader. Multi-user pricing is not published; book a demo to get it. Source: RAMS App, checked October 2026.
Risk Assessor Pro alternatives

Risk Assessor Pro

Web and mobile RAMS with offline working, sign-off and action tracking, priced per user in bands.
Per-user pricing makes it straightforward to cost for a small team, and it offers a free trial. Source: Risk Assessor Pro, checked October 2026.
Where Soteriaa fits

Soteriaa: free RAMS generator; tracking not yet on sale

Soteriaa is a free RAMS generator today. RAMS tracking is coming but is not on sale yet.
Soteriaa is not a full EHS platform: it does not run permits, inductions or site sign-in.

How we compared

We read each vendor’s own product and pricing pages in October 2026 and recorded what they say the product does, who it is for and the price they publish. Where a page could not be loaded or contradicted itself, we say so rather than estimate. We have not run hands-on trials, and the order of the table is not a ranking. Soteriaa publishes this guide and is one of the tools compared.
FAQ

Common questions

What is the best RAMS software for a small contractor?
It depends on the job you need done. If you mostly need to write RAMS, a generator or builder with a low monthly allowance is usually enough. If you need RAMS briefed and signed on site, look at tools with sign-off. Compare published prices for the number of users you actually have.
Is there free RAMS software?
Soteriaa’s RAMS generator is free: you enter the job, hazards and controls and download an editable risk assessment and method statement. Several paid tools in this guide offer free trials.
Did you test these tools?
No. This comparison uses each vendor’s own published information, checked October 2026.

Write your RAMS free now

You supply the hazards and controls; the generator builds an editable risk assessment and method statement.