Method statement software buyer guide · Vendor sources checked October 2026
Best method statement software (2026)
The best method statement software depends on how you want the method statement written: from your own job details, from a vendor’s library or templates, or drafted by AI from a task description; this guide compares the main UK tools on that and on published price, checked October 2026. Soteriaa publishes this guide and is one of the tools compared.
Last updated .
How to choose method statement software
Three ways method statement software gets written
A method statement sets out how a job will be done safely, step by step, and usually sits with a risk assessment. Most tools sell the two together as RAMS; for that wider choice, see best RAMS software for contractors.
From your own details
You enter the scope, sequence, controls and emergency arrangements and the tool lays them out. Nothing is suggested, so the content is only as good as what you supply.
From a library or templates
You start from ready-made activities or method statement templates and edit them to suit the job. Check who writes the library and how often it is updated.
Drafted by AI
You describe the task and the tool drafts the method statement. Fast, but every draft needs checking by someone competent before it is issued.
Method statement software comparison, checked October 2026
Method statement software compared
Prices are as each vendor publishes them, in pounds per month where a monthly price is shown. Each tool sells method statements as part of RAMS. We have not tested these products.
On smaller screens, scroll the table sideways to see every column.
| Tool | How method statements are written (vendor’s description) | Users | Published price | Source, date checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HandsHQ | Task-specific risk assessments and method statements built from a content library of activities and sequences of operations grouped by trade; PDF download; your own content on Enterprise | Individual plans (Pro up to 3 users); Teams plans from up to 10 users | Individual: Basic £44/month ex VAT (1 RAMS a month), Advanced £99, Pro £190. Teams: from £275/month, billed annually plus a set-up fee. No free trial stated. | |
| swiftRMS | AI drafts a method statement (sequence of operations, plant, PPE, emergency arrangements) and a matching risk assessment from a plain-English task description; editable before PDF or Word export; the vendor says drafts must be reviewed by a competent person | Pro for individual contractors; Business up to 10 users | Pro £49/month or £499/year; Business £399/month; Enterprise custom. VAT not stated. 14-day free trial. | Method statement page and pricing; October 2026 |
| RAMS App | Ready-made method statements you edit to suit the work or replace with your own content, alongside risk assessments and COSHH; create, duplicate, download and send | Single user or small business; multi-user plan | Annual Unlimited single user £449 + VAT a year (no monthly price shown); multi-user not published. No trial stated. | Homepage and single-user pages; October 2026 |
| Risk Assessor Pro | Method statement module with 20+ templates, on phone, tablet or computer; method statements link to risk assessments in one RAMS document with sign-off | Per user, in bands from 1–10 users | £18/user/month for 1–10 users, £16 for 11–20, £14 for 21–50; 10% off annually. VAT not stated. 14-day free trial. | |
| Soteriaa | Free method statement generator: lays out the scope, work sequence, controls and emergency arrangements you supply, with a reference to your risk assessment. It does not choose hazards or controls. Plus RAMS tracking: sites, assessments, review dates, evidence, actions and daily email reminders | RAMS Pro: 1 user and up to 10 active sites or projects | RAMS Pro: £49 a month or £490 a year (two months free when paid annually); 14-day free trial. RAMS Team is coming soon. The documents are free. | Soteriaa RAMS pricing; current published price |
Vendor facts come only from each vendor’s own website, checked October 2026. Prices change; confirm the current price, VAT and contract term with the vendor before buying. Inclusion is not endorsement, and the order is not a ranking.
Library-based method statements
HandsHQ
Builds method statements from a content library of activities and sequences of operations, organised by trade.
Individual plans are priced by how many RAMS you create a month, which suits a contractor writing a few sets. Enterprise customers can use their own method statement content. HandsHQ also offers a free Word RAMS template. Source: HandsHQ features and free RAMS template, checked October 2026.
AI-drafted method statements
swiftRMS
You describe the task and swiftRMS drafts the method statement and a matching risk assessment, citing UK legislation.
It suits a contractor who wants a fast first draft and will check it carefully; the vendor’s own page says drafts must be reviewed by a competent person. Approval workflows are on the Business plan. Source: swiftRMS method statement software, checked October 2026.
Template-based method statements
RAMS App
Ready-made method statements written by health and safety consultants, which you edit or replace with your own content.
The single-user plan is one yearly payment, which suits a sole trader. Multi-user pricing is not published. Source: RAMS App, checked October 2026.
Template-based method statements
Risk Assessor Pro
A method statement module with 20+ templates that links each method statement to its risk assessment.
Per-user pricing makes it simple to cost for a small team, and it works on phone, tablet or computer. Source: Risk Assessor Pro, checked October 2026.
Where Soteriaa fits
Soteriaa: free method statement generator and RAMS Pro tracking
Soteriaa’s method statement generator is free, and RAMS Pro keeps your RAMS per site with review-date reminders for £49 a month or £490 a year (two months free when paid annually), with a 14-day free trial.
Soteriaa is not a full EHS platform: it does not run permits, inductions or site sign-in.
- Create the method statement with the free method statement generator: you enter the scope, work sequence, controls and emergency arrangements, and download an editable Word, PDF or Markdown file.
- The method statement form has no hazards field: hazards go in the risk assessment, which the form references. To build both, use the free RAMS pack.
- You supply the hazards, sequence and controls. Soteriaa does not choose them or judge the work safe.
- Track RAMS per site with review dates and reminders: RAMS software for contractors. RAMS Team is coming soon.
Method statement software UK checklist
Choosing method statement software in the UK
Most method statement software in the UK is sold as part of a RAMS tool, so compare it on the method statement itself as well as the price.
- Who writes the content: you, a vendor library, templates or AI, and who checks it before it is issued.
- Whether the method statement links to its risk assessment, so the two say the same thing.
- The export format your clients and principal contractors accept.
- Whether you need sign-off, approvals or briefing records, or just the document.
- The published price for the number of users and documents you actually need.
How we compared
We read each vendor’s own product, method statement and pricing pages in October 2026 and recorded how they say method statements are written, who the product is for and the price they publish. Paperless Construction was left out because its website could not be loaded. We have not run hands-on trials, and the order of the table is not a ranking. Soteriaa publishes this guide and is one of the tools compared.
FAQ
Common questions
What is the best method statement software?
It depends on how you want method statements written. If you already know the job and want it laid out, a generator is enough. If you want to start from ready-made content, look at library or template tools. If you want an AI first draft, budget time for a competent review. Compare published prices for the users you actually have.
Is there free method statement software?
Soteriaa’s method statement generator is free: you enter the scope, work sequence, controls and emergency arrangements and download an editable method statement. Several paid tools in this guide offer free trials.
Does Soteriaa write the method statement for me?
No. You enter the content and the generator lays it out under method statement headings. Hazards are recorded in the risk assessment, which the method statement references; Soteriaa does not choose hazards or controls or judge the work safe.
Did you test these tools?
No. This comparison uses each vendor’s own published information, checked October 2026.
Write your method statement free now
You supply the sequence and controls; the generator builds an editable method statement.