Comparison · Last verified: October 2026
Soteriaa vs ProWrite: welding procedure software compared
ProWrite, from CEI, is built for writing welding documents with code assistance: PQR, WPS, WPQ and welder continuity records for ASME IX or AWS D1.1, with an API 1104 add-on, while Soteriaa is a focused register that keeps welder qualification and continuity dates and sends reminders. Pick by the task: writing code-assisted procedures, or keeping qualification dates under control.
Last updated . Reviewed by Soteriaa team.
Product focus
Code-assisted document writing versus a qualification register
ProWrite facts come from CEI's own pages, checked October 2026. CEI's code-assistance claims are attributed to CEI; this page does not validate engineering logic.
On smaller screens, scroll the table sideways to see every column.
| Capability | Soteriaa | ProWrite |
|---|---|---|
| WPS / PQR-WPQR / WPQ | WPS and WPQR records entered as written and printed to PDF | PQR, WPS and WPQ records |
| Controlled WPS/PQR revisions | Issue numbered WPS and PQR/WPQR revisions with source document and reviewer notes; a WPS needs an issued PQR revision; earlier revisions are kept | Not detailed on the pages checked |
| Jobs and weld records | Jobs with weld operations recording the welder, qualification and controlled WPS revision; mismatches raise review warnings, not eligibility decisions | Not detailed on the pages checked |
| Document versions, packs and export | Document version history; reviewer-confirmed job packs that keep their issued versions (PDF or Word); workspace or job ZIP export with a checksummed manifest | Not detailed on the pages checked |
| Code assistance | No code logic; ranges are not calculated, checked or approved | Code-assistance options |
| Codes and forms | Records ISO 9606-1, ASME IX or AWS D1.1 as the standard, as written on the certificate | ASME IX (plus Sections I/III/VIII, B31.1, B31.3) or AWS D1.1 base; API 1104 add-on; BS/EN/ISO forms |
| Continuity | Every supervisor confirmation is kept: date, who confirmed it, method, next due date and evidence link | Welder continuity records |
| Expiry reminders | Daily reminder emails, by default 90, 60 and 7 days before continuity or revalidation is due, plus overdue | Expiry emails |
| Certificate import | AI import of welder qualification certificate PDFs, reviewed before anything is saved | Not detailed on the pages checked |
| E-signatures | Not offered | E-signatures |
| Deployment | Cloud workspace | Cloud or on-premises |
| Price and trial | Published: £79/month or £790/year, 14-day free trial | Not published; trial/demo signup, length not stated |
Source: CEI welding and fabrication (ProWrite), checked October 2026.
Verdict
Choose ProWrite or Soteriaa?
A scope-based verdict, not a ranking.
Soteriaa publishes this comparison and is one of the tools compared. It does not certify welders, qualify procedures or determine compliance. See how Soteriaa keeps procedure records in WPS and WPQR management, or compare more tools in the welder qualification software guide.
- Choose ProWrite if you write PQRs, WPSs and WPQs and want code assistance for ASME IX, AWS D1.1 or API 1104, e-signatures or an on-premises install.
- Choose Soteriaa if your procedures are already written and the problem is keeping welder qualification, continuity and revalidation dates current and tying controlled WPS/PQR revisions and welders to jobs, with continuity history, scheduled reminders, issued job packs, workspace export and a published price.
FAQ
Soteriaa vs ProWrite questions
A practical comparison for teams choosing between code-assisted document writing and a qualification register.
What is ProWrite welding software?
CEI describes ProWrite as software for PQR, WPS, WPQ and welder continuity records, with code-assistance options, expiry emails and e-signatures. It runs in the cloud or on-premises (checked October 2026).
How much does ProWrite cost?
CEI does not publish a price (checked October 2026). There is a trial/demo signup; its length is not stated.
Does ProWrite support ASME Section IX and AWS D1.1?
CEI states that ProWrite's base code is ASME IX (plus Sections I, III and VIII, B31.1 and B31.3) or AWS D1.1, with an API 1104 add-on and BS/EN/ISO forms. Confirm the package you need with CEI.
Is Soteriaa a replacement for ProWrite?
Not if you need code-assisted procedure writing. Soteriaa has no code logic: WPS, WPQR and qualification ranges are entered as written. It is a better fit when the problem is keeping qualification, continuity and revalidation dates current, with reminders and reviewed certificate import.